RSS

Fall has fallen

05 Nov

Well, the cool weather has started here in the Midwest.  Woke up to freezing temperatures this morning.  Thank heavens all the plants are in and safe for the winter.  Now the house looks like a greenhouse.  That’s ok, saves a lot of money in the spring.  I have all of the begonias, geraniums, impatiens, etc. under grow lights so that when I take them out in the spring, they are already flowering.  The other large plants are in my dining room where they get lots of sun.  I have hibiscus flowering all winter.  Here’s a picture:

IMG_0079

This was taken in December.  Everyone I showed it to was amazed at how it was flowering indoors.  Well, actually, so was I.  This year, I won’t see any blooms on this plant because I had to prune it quite a bit.  It was getting too “leggy”.

Don’t forget to set your clocks back this weekend.  Daylight saving time ends Sunday at 2:00 A.M.  And have a great weekend.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 5, 2010 in Just regular stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
