RSS

Playing with new laptop.

14 Nov

Well, finally got my new laptop and got it all set up the way I want it.  First thing I do is get rid of all the “crapware” HP and every other manufacturer installs on their computers.  Why do I do that?  Because most of it I’ll never use so why keep it and let it take up hard drive space?  Besides, there’s a lot of duplication.  Windows comes with a decent media player so I don’t need two or three other ones.  I use Windows Live Essentials, so don’t need any other software for making movies, editing pictures, etc.  I use Microsoft Security Essentials which is free, so don’t need to pay for any other anti-virus software.  I just wish there was a way to order a computer without all that junk, but they just won’t let you.  They say it’s all free, but who do they think they are kidding?

Other than playing with the laptop, oh and I forgot one other thing.  I had AT&T Mobile Broadband, and it was kind of slow, so I bought a Netgear WNDR3700 wireless dual band router and boy what a difference.  Connecting at 50Mbps as compared to 3Mbps is fantastic.  And since I do a lot of testing of different things, it really is nice.  And the Netgear router was really easy to set up.  Only thing is, if I had been leasing my modem from Comcast, they would have given me a wireless router for free.  Oh well, can’t have everything I guess.Sad smile  Here are the speeds I get http://results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/54211242.png Pretty impressive huh?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2010 in New stuff

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
