RSS

Playing with Windows 8 Developer Preview

18 Sep

Have been playing with Windows 8 Developer Preview since Thursday and I am liking it more and more every day.  Was a very short learning curve getting used to the new “Metro” UI but now that I’ve figured it out, I think it’s pretty neat and am able to navigate all my programs with ease now.  I know it’s just a preview, but so far I’ve only had one problem.  I was testing PaintShop Pro 4X and it won’t run on Windows 8.  But that is to be expected.  Not everything is going to run on a Dev. Preview.  But, I thought I would give it a try anyway and since I’m going to be doing a review of the PaintShop Pro 4X I figured I’d try it anyway.  Here’s a screen shot of what the new “Metro” UI looks like, in case you haven’t seen it:

image

Pretty neat isn’t it?  I think so.  Of course most of the games I won’t be playing, but they are only there for show anyway and probably won’t all be there in the Betas or final versions of Windows 8.  Now that I’m getting used to the UI, I’m considering trying the Windows Phone 7 again because the UI is the same on that phone.  I’m just waiting for AT&T to get back to me on when the new HTC Titan phone is going to be available.  It has a 4.7” screen which I think will be nice.  I’ve been using the Samsung Infuse with the Android OS and I kind of like that too, so am not really 100% sure if I’ll switch to the Windows 7 Phone or not.  Will have to really take a hard look at it first.

Other than that, nothing exciting has happened around here.  Went to Shipshewana, IN to the flea market a couple of times and bought lots of stuff I really don’t need.  Well, I did get a few sets of sheets which I really did need, but other than that, the rest was just stuff for the yard.  I could start my own flea market now.  LOL

That’s about it.  So hope everyone is doing well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2011 in New stuff

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
